Body language?


What you see...

Why not?

It is a friendly, laid back English village. Strangers say ‘Good morning’. All well and good but I am puzzled by two grey haired gents, strolling past, hand in hand. My first thought? Ah, sweet. My second thought was: unusual to see men (even in 2010) holding hands. My third thought: maybe they are not a couple and one is just keeping hold of the other. Care in the community.

None of this matters of course, except… we do judge by appearances, jump to conclusions, make assumptions?
 
I’m still wondering. Isn’t holding hands for children? Adults link arms,put arms round waists and shoulders? I am so out of touch with ‘couple’ behaviour… I am left wondering.
 
Leave a Reply

